I wanna lama

When everything is clean-clear in your own mind, nobody can create obstacles for you.

-Lama Thubten Yeshe, “The Bliss of Inner Fire”

That’s my problem. My Mind is not “clean-clear”. It is clear that attachments, mine and those of the people around me, are the cause of my current suffering. I have too many attachments — attachments to other people’s esteem for me, attachments to money, to my idea of “freedom”. My problem is that, if I strive to live a connected life, an other-centered life, how do I avoid attachments? How do I grasp without clutching? How do I free myself of attachments without becoming truly detached? I am too great a fool to know this for myself. I think I need a lama. Augh! Another attachment!

Leave a Reply

