Sonoma. So good.

Okay, they were out of Tiramisu. And most disappointingly, the jazz band called in sick. But the restaraunt we went to on our date Saturday night was a really cool place called Sonoma.

Tucked on a side street near the corner of Montrose and Westheimer, Sonoma appears to be in a building that used to be some sort of office building or school. But the restaraunt and the theater downstairs have done a great job of converting the space. Heidi had the Chilean sea bass and I had shrimp over crawfish risotto with pineapple chutney. The drinks and food were great, but the two hours of slow eating (we ordered each course separately) and great conversation with my best friend in a bona fide adult atmosphere (no laminated menus!) was sooo luxurious it was sinful. I had to order an apertif to stretch out the experience.

This evening was brought to us by my brother and his wife who, I guess after seeing how bedraggled and tired we looked after our vacation, volunteered some free babysitting to give us some adult alone time. Thanks Dave and Cindy! BTW, if you’re looking for a DJ for an event, my brother is a darn good one. And reasonably priced. (Shameless plug I know, but he’s my little brother and he gives me free babysitting.)

We are definitely going back when the jazz band is healthy again.

Leave a Reply

