Footprints on my Butt

I don’t have the Footprints poem hanging anywhere in my house, but I do have a different version of the kitschy Footprints poem in my head. You know the part when it gets to the end of the poem, and Jesus is explaining why there’s only one set of footprints in places:

“During your times of trial and suffering,when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.”

I think of a version that’s more appropriate to my life:

“During your times of procrastination and dithering, when you sat around and moped and asked me to bail you out, it was then that kicked you off your butt and down the beach.”

Some of us need different things from a relationship with Jesus than others. In that spirit, I’m turning off the computer and going to do a couple of things, like my morning meditation, I’ve been putting off.

Have a nice Sabbath. Even you non-Christians. You have a nice day of rest too, ‘kay?

Leave a Reply

