Got Whipped?

A number of Yoplait Whips showed up in our refrigerator overnight. Heidi probably got them on sale. She’s efficient that way.

The commercials tout this product as being unbelievably light and fluffy. I see it as an excuse to sell people less yogurt for the same amount of money. But hey, why should Starbucks be the only ones to profit off of the inexplicable American love affair with dairy-flavored air?

(dairy-flavored air. dairy air. Tee hee. Say, “I want some dairy air!” ten times fast, with enthusiasm.)

I would love to have been a fly on the wall of the focus group for this product. Were they all, “I love that Yoplait, but man, that stuff goes straight to the hips!” I mean is it really necessary to make yogurt, the 98-pound weakling of breakfast foodstuffs, even lighter?

I’d say that Yoplait Whips are the most innovative use of air in a breakfast food since Rice Krispies. But will people buy it? Well, if Americans can embrace a breakfast cereal that basically starts to collapse the second you pour milk on it, I can’t blame the Yoplait folks for giving it a try.

As for me, I had the regular heavy 6oz. Yoplait this morning. I’m such a pig.

Leave a Reply

