wank-vertising

I’ve had a gut-wrenching two days. Not emotional trauma gut-wrenching but intestinal illness gut-wrenching. So apart from spending a lot of quality time with my loo and laying around willing time to move faster relative to my conscious perception of it, I watched a lot of TV. In fact I’ve watched more TV in the last twenty-four hours than I have in the past month.

I have renewed insight as to why I do not watch much TV. I just have to say now that the current vogue in TV advertising where they get a charmingly irritating character to interact wittily and oh-so-spontaneously with the public at large is getting to be way past its expiration date.

And the Clairol people simply MUST cease and desist with their whole “wank-vertising” campaign. You know the one, where the woman in the shower is enjoying her shampoo a bit too much, loudly, with gusto? I mean, there was a certain seventh-grade tittery amusement with the fact that the word “organic” is two letters different from the word “orgasmic.” If you stretched a bit you might get one double-entendre commerical off the concept. But this is just too much. Clairol is using this “wank-vertising” concept for its fruity shampoos now. Please stop now. It’s getting embarrassing.

But apparently wanking sells. Levi’s is picking up the “wank-vertising” torch with a new campaign that urges you to “Rub Yourself” in their jeans. (via Meg’s notsosoft)

But unless I get sick again, I probably won’t be seeing those commercials. Now there’s some motivation to stay healthy.

Leave a Reply

