Goodies

Our little corner of suburbia is becoming so multicultural. First the Bubble Tea parlor and now this.

There’s this new ice cream parlor in Clear Lake called Goodies that is run by a very nice Vietnamese family. At any time they have 49 of a possible 200 homemade flavors available for tasting. They have all the ususal suspects as well as surprises like remarkable Root Beer Float and Cotton Candy flavors which are kids’ favorites.

But what makes them really fun to visit are all the more Asian flavors. I tried Durian, Sour Sop, and Purple Yam ice cream and didn’t care for those much. But I really liked Green Tea, Lychee, Longan, and Ginger (with real bits of ginger) My favorite Asian flavor so far has been the Pandan Leaf flavor I tried yesterday, which tasted a bit like vanilla/hazelnut/grass and was pretty darn good.

Oh, and the big selling point for me is that they occasionally make a Licorice flavored ice cream. This is the only place in the world I know of where I can get a Licorice ice cream shake. The flavor was almost sold out, so I can’t be the only weirdo in my area that thinks Licorice Ice Cream sounds good.

Anyway, maybe you Houston Bloggers should come down my way for a gathering. I’ll buy anyone’s first scoop of Durian Flavored ice cream.

Leave a Reply

