Tubular, dude.

I was just reminded of an old favorite recording of mine that did not make the format conversion from cassette tape to CD. I haven’t heard Mike Oldfield’s Tubular Bells in forever, but it’s one of my all-time favorite instrumentals.

This time of year is the season for Tubular Bells, or at least the first few minutes of it. It’s better known as the theme from “The Exorcist” and is associated with Horror. But if you listen for the entire twenty-something minutes, you’ll hear a work that is inventive and at times humorous and a bit bizzare in spots.

Hmmm, I wonder what else in my album and cassette collection did not make the format jump. This, I feel, is a legitimate use for P2P music downloading. I have already bought the music, but don’t have the equipment to go from cassette to CD. I’m hitting my P2P source to see who has Tubular Bells.

Come to think of it, most of my Kronos Quartet is on cassette too…

Leave a Reply

