Keep Breathing

“God is closer to me than I am to myself: my being depends on God’s being near me and present to me. So God is also in a stone or a log of wood, only they do not know it. If the wood knew God and realized how close God is to it…it would be blessed as the highest angel. And so I am more blessed than a stone or a piece of wood because I am aware of God and know how close God is to me. And I am the more blessed, the more I realize this, and I am the less blessed the less I know this. I am not blessed because God is in me, but because I am aware of how close God is to me, and that I know God.”
– Meister Eckhart-

This is a great point, especially for me. I tend to forget. So, if I tend to forget God is in me, does that make me, like, a block of wood or something? That’s a metaphor I will have to ruminate on…

And when we say to one another, on parting or in prayer, “God be with you.” or “Via con Dios.”, or even “God Bless You.” it’s kind of stating the obvious. Like saying, “Hey, keep breathing, okay?”

What’s a good salutation phrase that effectively says “Don’t forget God is with you.” that doesn’t sound pedantic?

Well, if the difference is awareness — and since for me the act of focused breathing helps me center myself and tune out distractions, thus helping me increase my awareness of God within me — then maybe “Keep Breathing.” is not such a bad salutation to greet and part with after all.

So with that, I am off to prepare for my childrens’ baptism, the subsequent party, and then a trip up yonder to the hills of Oklahoma for Thanksgiving. I may post here if I can find a moment and a thought, but since the computer room will be a makeshift guest bedroom for the next few days and the prospects of finding a cybercafe in Poteau are slim, I suspect any updates will be spotty until after the first of next month.

Have a good Thanksgiving. And y’all Keep Breathing, okay?

Leave a Reply

