Meta-Attention

It is crucial to know when it is appropriate to withdraw our attention from things that disturb our mind. However, if the only way we know how to deal with certain objects is to avoid them, there will be a severe limit as to how far our spiritual practice can take us.

-Lama Thubten Yeshe

Amen. We cannot thrive in a “Holy Huddle”.

Our attention is a precious resource, a currency of sorts. Millions of dollars are spent to grab my attention, hold it, measure it. How do I spend my attention? From what do I withhold my attention? Whether we are “religious” or not, this sort of “Meta” thinking is an important practice for our minds and spirits.

Is my attention apportioned according to the values I embrace? Sadly, no, but I’m working on it.

I’m doing good to be aware at all. Latest theories say that I spend most of my waking hours in a subconscious pursuit of dopamine rewards, in a less than fully conscious state. It takes effort to break out of it.

You work hard for your money. How do you spend it?
You work hard for your awareness. How do you spend it?

Leave a Reply

