And when it rains…

It pours. I came home yesterday fresh from my fishing expedition at CD Warehouse and found four CD’s waiting for me. I quit the Columbia House record club last August and, through a variety of snafu’s, I didn’t get my final four selections until yesterday. I’d forgotten they we coming.

The biggest surprise was my CD “Music for the Movies of Clint Eastwood” which I got because I am a fan of Ennio Morricone and he composed most of the music from Eastwood’s “Spaghetti Westerns.” I was disappointed on that account, because there was only one Morricone track, the theme from “The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly.” Just one. Bleh.

Turns out that, except for a few that were included because they are the ones most naturally associated with Clint Eastwood movies, most of the music was composed by Eastwood himself. Go figure.

You know, I don’t usually associate the ideas “music” and “Clint Eastwood” that often. And when I do, I think of him singing “They Call the Wind Mariah” in “Paint Your Wagon” or maybe his direction of Forrest Whittaker playing Charlie Parker in the brilliant bummer of a movie called Bird. I never figured this guy for a composer. But it’s all there, and it’s pretty good. There’s even an original orchestral piece, featuring sax solos from Joshua Redman, called “Clint Eastwood: An American Filmmaker Suite.” Think Aaron Copland pasted to Duke Ellington with a John Williams Glue-stick.

S’kinda bizzarre. But in a good way, I guess.

Leave a Reply

