Oh, bother.

“Regarding one’s own personal needs, there should be as little involvement or obligation as possible. But regarding service to others, there should be as many possible involvements and obligations as possible. This should be the ideal of a spiritual person.

-His Holiness the Dalai Lama”

Which reminds me of my favorite definition of Love, which I attribute to our friend Winnie Honeywell, who happens to be director of our diocese’s Family Life Office:

“Love means being bothered for the sake of another.”

Which reminds me of an old 10,000 Maniacs song:

“Trouble me. Disturb me with all your cares and your worries”

So does that mean that Love is a big pain in the ass, albeit a happy one? C’mon, bother me.

Leave a Reply

