Postmodern Pacheco Parody

Heresy

I do not love my Church. Its abstract splendor
is beyond my grasp.
But (although it sounds bad) I would give my life
for ten parishes in it, ministries, families,
a run-down diocese, gray, grotesque,
various saints from its history,
deaneries
(and three or four youth groups).

I couldn’t resist adding one parody to Caterina Fake’s post on the below poem by Jose Emilio Pacheco. The poem captures a key element of the Postmodern mindset.

To us Postmoderns, grand institutions in their abstract splendor do not captivate or inspire so much as the individuals that comprise them. Would we die for a beautiful idea? Nyaaaah, probly not. Would we suffer for our neighbors, real people? That’s more likely.

Here’s the original poem for reference:

HIGH TREASON
by Jose Emilio Pacheco

I do not love my country. Its abstract splendor
is beyond my grasp.
But (although it sounds bad) I would give my life
for ten places in it, for certain people,
seaports, pinewoods, fortresses,
a run-down city, gray, grotesque,
various figures from its history,
mountains
(and three or four rivers).

Leave a Reply

