Seeing

He alone sees truly who sees the Lord the same in every creature, who sees the Deathless in the hearts of all that die. Seeing the same Lord everywhere, he does not harm himself or others. Thus he attains the supreme goal.

-Bhagavad Gita 13: 27-28

Seeing the Lord in every creature. Seeing the Gospel in the lives of non-believers. Seeing God in the hearts of atheists. The child in every curmudgeon, hope in the eyes of every cynic I know. All of these are pretty easy.

Provided I can see the Lord in myself. Which is very hard.

A friend said to me this week that he is seeking to know what must fall away, what must die in himself, for him to find the new life. For me that must be the veil that keeps me from seeing clearly the Lord in myself.

And the Legion that are my many distractions, I guess, but that is another post.

Leave a Reply

