Equanimity

It is hard to find
A man who has desire
For what he has not tasted,
Or who tastes the world
And is untouched.

Here in the world
Some crave pleasure,
Some seek freedom
But it is hard to find
A man who wants neither.

He is a great soul.

It is hard to find
A man who has an open mind,
Who neither seeks nor shuns
Wealth or pleasure,
Duty or liberation,
Life or death. . .

He does not want the world to end.
He does not mind if it lasts.
Whatever befalls him,
He lives in happiness.
For he is truly blessed.

-Ashtavakra Gita 17:4-7

I used to think that contemplation meant remaining detached. I am now living the understanding that it can be just the opposite. My tendency to see contemplation as an escape from attachments was for me yet another sort of attachment.

Diving into life each day, observing my many stresses and pulls, anxieties, concerns, and joys while I am still wrestling with them – That is my contemplation these days.

When I return to understanding that diving into muck of life is prayer, I return to my center. It doesn’t make the dark clouds of stress and deadlines go away. I’m currently feeling stressed by opposite pulls of home and work at the moment. But I am blessed with the confidence that I am a deep breath and a smile away from my center at all times, even when my arms are elbows-deep in muck. I just have to remember to breathe.

Leave a Reply

