Contemplation and Practice

“I insist again: your foundation must not consist of prayer and
contemplation alone: unless you acquire the virtues and practice them, you
will always be dwarfs; and no worse fate may befall you than making
no progress, for you know that to stop is to go back–if you love,
you will never be content to come to a standstill.”

– St. Teresa of Avila {1515-82}, “The Interior Castle”

I agree with St. Theresa here. Except I don’t see contemplation and practice of virtues as separate things. But I am not cloistered, and prayer for me is necessarily coupled with activity. If I had to wait for peace and quiet to pray, I would be at a standstill.

Leave a Reply

