Heidi Speaks

Every once and a while, Heidi sends something I wrote on my blog via email to one of her friends. It’s nice to know that she occasionally likes what I have to say enough to share it further. Well, it’s time to reverse things. She sent an email that expresses an issue – a gripe I have about us “conservative Christians” – better than I could. I was trying to choose something to post that would stand up well while we go on five or so days of summer vacation, so I’m blogging my wife. It bears reading several times, especially for us “conservative Christians”:

John,

Read your blog. Do you really want to know what I have to say about gay adoptions?

First off, in a perfect world, every child would be born to a mom and dad who are financially stable, present, supportive and loving. Unfortunately, that is not the case.

Right now, there are more than 1,000 foster children available for immediate adoption in Harris County. Children born addicted to crack. With fetal alcohol syndrome. Children ho’ve experienced severe neglect and unspeakable abuse.

You won’t be surprised to hear that there aren’t exactly a lot of heterosexual couples lining up to adopt them. In fact, not a week goes by that I don’t see a Catholic Charities article in some community newspaper trying to recruit adoptive parents. There simply are not enough to go around.

Houston’s city controller is Annise Parker, who is gay. She and her partner of many years have adopted two (African American) teenager girls and are in the process of adopting their brother. These kids languished in the system for years without prospective parents. After learning they were being adopted by two gay women, their foster mother told them they’d burn in hell if they went to live with Annise and her partner. They chose to be adopted anyway. And now they’re growing up in a lovely, stable home with a pool in the back yard, parents who help coach their softball teams, parents who help tutor them in math and reading, and parents who are helping them work through issues of anger, sadness, trust and abandonment.

Two gay men we know own a beautiful bed and breakfast on the west coast. One comes from a wealthy family in Hawaii and the other works in the NICU at the hospital. After a baby was born with a severe heart deformity and abandoned for several months, they stepped forward to
adopt her. Because of the wealth of one and the medical expertise of another, she is now thriving.

I’m going to digress here a bit, but when our caseworker at Catholic Charities told me in mid-November about this preemie who’d been abandoned and without a visitor for the last three months, I called a friend of mine who works in the NICU to get more information. I
naively assumed Marie would immediately know the baby I was talking about. Sadly, I found, there are many abandoned babies in the NICU. I met three of them myself during the weeks I visited Olivia before she was able to come home with us.

I say if a gay couple in a stable relationship is willing to step forward and adopt, then God bless them and don’t let me get in the way. At least not until more heterosexual couples find the grace and courage to step up and love those whom others deem unlovable.

Finally, I just think it’s more than a little ironic that the kids who are in the foster system now are there mostly because of the poor decisions of heterosexual couples, not homosexual couples (emphasis mine – cody). Given all that these kids have already endured, I don’t think they’re too worried about who’s going to walk them down the aisle on their wedding day. They just want a loving home for good and forever.

There you have it. My two (er, ten) cents on gay adoptions.

Love ya anyway.

Heidi

I’ll add that Annise Parker hit it right on the head – if you are opposed to people like her adopting children, get out there and adopt unwanted children so there is no need for people like her to adopt children.

And with that, we’re off to Oklahoma, the center of gravity for conservative Christians who oppose gay adoption.

Leave a Reply

