This One Starfish

“When we get our spiritual house in order, we’ll be dead. This goes on. You arrive at enough certainty to be able to make your way, but it is making it in darkness. Don’t expect faith to clear things up for you. It is trust, not certainty.” – Flannery O’Connor

When a six year old throws things and shouts that he doesn’t want to live with you anymore, you can dismiss it as rageful acting out. But when he’s calmed down and says the same thing, what is that? Can a six year old even make that determination? Somehow I doubt either possible answer. How do I act in the best interest of a kid who is so wounded he continues to wound himself? Do I really love him, or do I just love the prospect of helping him, or is there any difference? If I stick to my guns in the face of all logic, am I being faithful in love? Or just prideful and stubborn? How much certainty do you need to make your way?

It occurs to me that no one asked the starfish if they wanted to be thrown back. Maybe they liked the warmth of the sun and resented the hell out of the Boy. If so, was he right to save the starfish from themselves? Or did that only serve to make the Boy feel good? And would the Boy be in the business of throwing starfish if those starfish could sting him in their anger?

None of this makes any sense to me either. I’m just venting, rambling.

When you asked for more kid posts, I bet this wasn’t what you had in mind, huh?

Leave a Reply

