The Middle Way

I’m forty years old today. Right where I need to be, in the middle of my life.

I have a lot of great things to remember and a lot to look forward to. I have been handed some things in the past few years, spiritually, emotionally, and intellectually, that I count as gifts. I just need to go with them.

Forty years ago I had the joy of learning to see. Forty years later I have, through no doing of my own, rediscovered that joy. The first half of life was about learning. This half is about un-forgetting. About doing, while knowing that I am not the actual doer. About being the one who moves, knowing that I am not the actual mover.

Couldn’t be happier, right here in the middle. With more blessings than a man can rightly feel he deserves.

2 thoughts on “The Middle Way

  1. Cody,
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! I hope you have a great day. I feel so fortunate
    to have you as an in-law. You are a joy to be related to! Love, DeDe

  2. Happy birthday Cody. Saw a comment by you on PhotoMatt on the GWB photomosaic. You made the quote:

    “Freedom isn’t free, yes. But that’s no excuse to go throwing your currency away on speculative deals.”

    Wow, pithy *and* succint . Had to come here and read some more of your stuff after that.

Leave a Reply

