Good Question

“Cause I see two wolves fighting in my heart,
one vengeful and the other compassionate.
Which one will I feed today?
Will I behave as if the god in all life matters?
Or will I come after you, blaming and accusing?
Which one will I feed today?”

— Michael Brownstein, from “If you see something, say something.”

These were the last words I read on my half hour treadmill walk this morning, from a poem in a culture mag. The magazine before me being the only thing making the bored hamster experience of my morning exercise bearable. I can catch up on my reading and make progress through the periodicals that queue up in my briefcase. These words were good words to stop on. Goods words to start the day on.

A good question in general: “What will I feed today?”

Leave a Reply

