Re-mix

Not knowing where to start keeps me from starting. Not having time to relate the whole story keeps me from telling it. Not having time to sort out my thoughts and feelings keeps me from feeling comfortable with sharing anything.

But let just say that big changes are afoot. I am shifting paradigms in my work life, leaving my safe boring world of software engineering to dive into a venture as a futurist for real. And that’s just the center of the storm.

I will know more about what my life is going to look like in about a month. I know that I will have to rethink my strategic plan, my daily routines, and my personal infrastructure. And in that redesign will be a repurpose of Overflow, maybe enlisting this site into the new paradigm, the network-centric makeover of my life and career.

That said, as I type this, I realize that I miss posting here. So I cannot promise I’ll be totally gone for the next month. But if you don’t see me for a while longer, know that the waves of change are crashing around me and I’m desperately learning to surf.

4 thoughts on “Re-mix

  1. Cody,
    You have had so much experience at juggling that
    you will deftly juggle this as well. And even
    if you don’t do it deftly, you will still get
    through this transition because you have such great
    coping skills. I really look forward to seeing how
    your work as a futurist evolves. It’s very exciting,
    and congratulations! — DeDe

  2. Cody,

    Best of luck in your new endeavor. To an extent it seems as if you are where Brad is. He changed his major from engineering to political science because that is where his passion is. From your discussions in the past, futures is where your passion is, although software engineering was. Changing careers is much more common in our generation than in our parents. I think there is some statistic about a person changing careers 5-6 (?) times during their life. It is just time to dive into your new passion, your new career, despite the risks and the changes required.

    I think that you will do great in your new endeavor. I always enjoy the intellectual challenge of trying to develop a conceptual understanding of the new universe that I have awakened in. It takes a lot of intense work and effort. I am sure that you will do that well; you are energized by the new area. That effort will tend to crowd the other things going on in your life with family and your religion, but I have always thought that you have done a very good job balancing work and the other things in your life. I have confidence that you will continue to do so.

    Best of luck and wishes in this new endeavor. Love, David

Leave a Reply

