Poem: Quiet and Silence

“I Realized I Was Happy and It Scared Me”

Something had to have been here before me
for here to be here, so sometimes
I say I’d like a little silence,

to see if I can discover what it was,
but what I really want is quiet, in which
you hear just a few things

better, which is not silence,
in which you hear one thing
Again and again and again

and it’s not even there.

— Rich Ives

One thought on “Poem: Quiet and Silence

  1. This is interesting. I used to be an advocate for silence myself, but now I’m not so sure. Wanting silence, after all, is still wanting. Quiet, on the other hand, promotes mindfulness.

Leave a Reply

