Christmas Morning Quiet

“Mary kept all these things, reflecting on them in her heart.” — Luke 2:19

Merry Christmas. It is the quiet before the storm in the Clark household. I am spending a few moments with the Word before the impending paroxysm of bows and tissue paper. Santa did his thing and soon the kids will wake up and find the loot. But right now, the Christ Child is doing his thing in my heart too.

In my lectio this morning, I realized that at this point in the story the baby Jesus brought a lot of questions. The only ones who were sure who the new child called Jesus is are the angels. Mary herself didn’t fully know. She had to think about it for a while. She kept all these things she heard from the shepherds about angels and kings and saviors in her heart.

Sometimes I just have to think about it for a while myself and ponder just what sort of child is this I am holding in my heart. And walk in faith that somehow this child is the messiah, my salvation, my Lord. How He is the Word made Flesh and how I am a Word spoken by God in my own flesh. And how all this relates to the fact that I must go start making coffee and brunch for about 23 people in ten minutes.

So I’m with Mary. I’m never quite sure what I’ve got here, but I will certainly hold it dear in my heart as I go forward into this day of family and celebration. May you and yours hold God’s Peace and Joy in your hearts as well.

Leave a Reply

