I feel this morning like the little cricket below. How I seem to devote great energy into the most humble of efforts. Feeding children, kneading bread, moving laundry and belongings around the house, trying to find a full-time job. Inexplicably to me, the cricket, I somehow help God build the universe. I am happy this morning for the grace to connect with that. Lord, free me from the desire to be more significant, more noticed than You need. Accept my humble efforts. Help me to accept them too.

Song of the Builders

On a summer morning
I sat down
on a hillside
to think about God –

a worthy pastime.
Near me, I saw
a single cricket;
it was moving the grains of the hillside

this way and that way.
How great was its energy,
how humble its effort.
Let us hope

it will always be like this,
each of us going on
in our inexplicable ways
building the universe.

Mary Oliver from Why I Wake Early (2004)

Leave a Reply

