Liquid Breakfast — Red

A year ago my mom got me a blender. A pretty powerful one. Now the thing’s become pretty much indispensable to me. Mostly for breakfast.

I find that if I can put it into a glass, I’m more likely to have a healthy breakfast on the go. It’s also a good way to fit in the five servings of fruits and vegetables you’re supposed to have each day. Most of my problems with eating vegetables are with texture, so liquefying them with other yummy stuff like fruit and honey makes a good way to avoid the nutritionally hazardous Drive-Thru.

Here’s my own version of gazpacho with some extra fruit thrown in for a breakfasty/brunchy twist.

Red Gazpacho
1 tomato chopped
1 c chopped cucumber
2 small apples, cored, peeled, and chopped
juice of one orange
juice of one lime
1 clove garlic minced
1/4 c minced scallions
1/3 cup honey (or to taste)
2 c spicy vegetable juice (i.e. V8)
1/4 t cumin
1/4 t of salt
Blend all ingredients in a blender for two minutes. Chill for two hours and serve.

Leave a Reply

