Special, But Not That Special

I’ve admired Mike Rowe since seeing his righteous talk at TED about the dignity of blue-collar work. Now Mike’s made me proud to be an Eagle Scout again with his Eagle Scout Letter. He’ll send a signed copy of that letter to any Eagle Scout who asks (and sends a SASE.)

It reminds me of listening to Fr. Ron Cloutier tell us in ministry training a few years back, “You’re special, but not that special.” Awesome. I think it is a sacred duty of priests and prophets to say “y’all get over yourselves” on a regular basis. I know I need to hear it more often than I do. Exceptin’ from my wife, who does that just fine.

Leave a Reply

