In which bacon lifts me from the blog update guilt spiral…

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve written here. I got caught in that kind of Guilt Spiral that happens when you really should write someone to catch up but it’s been so long that you don’t even know where to start. Much less have the energy to write such a long letter. Then the longer you wait, the deeper the guilt gets, but the amount of life you have to pick through for shareable highlights gets longer too.

What can snap me out of it? This Guilt Spiral? Bacon of course.

A friend gave me a kind of jokey “I saw this and thought of you” kind of gifts from off his vacation. It was a bottle of syrup like they use in coffee shops for people who like the idea of coffee but not really the taste of coffee. It was bacon-flavored. I’m not sure what I think of that as a “saw this and thought of you” present, but he’s a good guy so I’ll not be too offended.

(There was the episode where I brought some homemade bacon fat caramels to a party he hosted. That might be why. Again, he’s a good guy so I choose not to think of this gift as passive aggressive in any way.)

I told him that this seemed like a bit of a challenge. What the heck was I going to do with bacon syrup? Well, what could I do with bacon syrup that would pass as real discriminating adult fare and not some novelty joke? I decided to go with a cocktail of some sort. Bacontini, maybe?

So here’s what I did:

  1. Muddled a quarter lemon at the bottom of a shaker
  2. Added 1/2 oz of bacon syrup
  3. Added a few dashes of my favorite bitters (Peychuad’s, FYI)
  4. Added 1/2 oz of Maraska (Cherry Liquer)
  5. Topped with 2 oz of Rye Whiskey
  6. Shake with ice and strain into a glass

I had my wife taste my prototype before I told her what it was. She proclaimed it “tasty,” which is a good sign because she has a lower bacony flavor tolerance than my friend.

I don’t know if this was “cheating” since I basically diluted the bacon syrup with other (tasty) stuff. But I think that as long as the bacon smokiness is a discernible voice in the chorus of flavors that is my cocktail, I’ll declare success.

So tonight I will try it on my friend. The bacon syrup coming home to roost, albeit in a chilled martini glass.

Leave a Reply

