A message across time to my 16 year old self

Hey, I don’t have much time, but I want to tell you something.

Adulthood is great, but it’s not what you think.

Remember when we were six and we thought it would be so cool to be able to shave and use the lawnmower just like daddy? You know how that turned out, right? Yeah. Adulthood is like that but on steroids.

Sure, you make your own money and drive your own car and own your own house. But you find yourself doing things like driving your own car across Houston to protest the valuation on your own house so that your escrow sucks up a smaller portion of your own money. If you don’t know what “valuation” and “escrow” mean, believe me you will. No rush.

Don’t get me wrong. Adulthood will be awesome. It will be most awesome in many ways you are not mature enough to appreciate yet. Don’t be in such a rush to be “mature.” If you skip past your teens trying to be “mature” more quickly you’ll actually end up being less mature when you get there. Do your maturing as a teen. It’s way more painful to become mature once you become an adult.

I appreciate all your hard studying and your intellectual curiosity, I really do. But dude: Look around. Pay attention. Enjoy things. Make friends. Those are important too.

And now that I look at you, well…  I am still glad you’re a pretty much a nerd but I am damned grateful that you don’t have access to Facebook.

Okay, I gotta go. Someone who claims he’s “me at age 70” is on the other line. Says it’s urgent.

Love you, you knucklehead,

You in your late forties

Leave a Reply

